Skip to content ↓
St Martin's School

St Martin's School

Virtual Learning Site

Curriculum [Cwricwlwm]

Curriculum Cwricwlwm

Background Information 

On 30 June 2015, the Minister for Education and Skills announced that the Welsh Government would accept, in full, all of the recommendations set out in Successful Futures, Professor Graham Donaldson’s independent review of the curriculum and assessment arrangements in Wales. Building on the Digital Pioneers model announced on 10 June 2015, this document sets out how, working in a new way with schools, local authorities, regional consortia, Estyn, leading academics and employers as well as other key stakeholders we will together build our new curriculum in Wales.

A new curriculum for Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundation they need to succeed in a changing world.

A new curriculum for Wales is being developed with education professionals across Wales Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they begin first teaching of the new curriculum. Welsh Government's ambition is that by 2022 settings and schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16.

The 4 Purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society


The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which is compulsory to age 16)
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • Science and Technology
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Expressive Arts
  • Humanities (including RE, which is compulsory to age 16)

Cross-curricular Responsibilities

The six areas of learning and experience are supported by three “Cross-curricular Responsibilities”. These consist of a range of competences and skills which are foundations for almost all learning and aim to enable pupils to participate successfully and confidently in the modern world.